Wallpaper issues…

Just wanted to let you know that I have not dropped dead from some sudden illness, or vanished for good. There are several reasons why this page hasn’t been updated for some time, most of them to do with stupid Real Life developments.

But, alas, there is another reason why there weren’t any progress reports on The Wallpaper, in particular. After two more or less successful rows I had to face the fact that my MO was not practical, not economically sensible, and not healthy, either.

Not practical, as the cardboard stencil could only be employed with the help of another person to either do the spraying, or fixating the stencil.

Not economic, because to achieve the intended colour density and uniformity, I used up about one can of spray paint per row.

Not healthy because using that amount of paint in a closed space makes said space more or less unusable for at least one or two days; and that’s leaving aside the fact that there’s no way to avoid breathing in the stuff while doing the spraying itself. Short of a gas mask, I mean.

All this doesn’t mean I’m going to give up on the project, though, as I do own a vinyl cutter… A late inspiration, I know πŸ˜‰ The thing hasn’t been used in years but Internet research assures me there are still ways to get it working, so the Wallpaper Project shall return once I’ve actually figured it out.

Right now I’m looking into mixing the colour of the first two rows from… varnish? lacquer? You know what I’m talking about, to match the existing bits. Although, knowing my stupid perfectionist self there is a real danger I’ll redo those first rows if the rest works much better, anyway……

I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Wallpaper issues…”

  1. Wow, you’ve done a great job, hope you’ll finish it sucsessfuly! πŸ™‚
    Do you know, there is a larger (but less accurate) stencil for sale on Etsy?
    I bought one for my future flat, but I have noooo idea how I’m going to handle the wall painting)
    Here’s the link:
    https://www.etsy.com/ru/listing/174812012/beautiful-damask-allover-decorative?ref=sr_gallery_5&ga_search_query=sherlock+stencil&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=RU&ga_search_type=all
    By the way: is the spray paint necessary for stencils?

Leave a Reply

