Test Coat Step II – The Upper Back

The upper back was far less difficult than I had feared.

Darts and centre box pleat

I closed the darts, then used a lot of steam on them and beat them with a (decidedly unhandy and weird) piece of wood, as suggested by Jessamygriffin on her blog. (If you haven’t checked it out yet, you really ought to.) I tried my best to hit the seam itself, not the dart fabric, and I am pleased with the result.

I then closed the centre seam that starts at the middle of the neck opening down to where the pleat starts. I ironed the box pleat, again using a ridiculous amount of steam, and kept hitting the poor thing for quite some time. The result are reasonably crisp edges, as I hope you can see in the pictures. I’ll probably try and obtain, or make, a more suitable clapper – since the ready-made ones I’ve seen on the Internet so far are incredibly expensive for a piece of wood 😉

finish_upperback01

The close-up shows the triangle I stitched right above the pleat, through all three layers of fabric there.

finish_upperback02

I then cut back the excessive fabric at the centre back seam above the pleat using pinking shears. I’m not sure if that was the best idea…

finish_upperback03

In this picture you see the piece of hair canvas I’m going to pad onto it now.

finish_upperback04

And here’s what it looks like now that I’ve finished padding it on:

finish_upperback05

Leave a Reply

